Final Assembly

04 July 2016

This morning, all of the school were present for the final assembly of term in which many sports and academic awards were given out. The assembly started with a video reflecting the work done by the Charity Committee this term: this will be shown to parents on Speech day.

The following boys will be welcomed to next year's Charity Committee: F Grimsey, H Yorke A Courtauld, C Rollo, A Tuner and A Tsereteli.

Next Ma'am Murphy presented G Brough and G Hanlon in the 4th Form with their Silver Awards for Latin. The following boys were also awarded for their services to Latin with a stylish T-Shirt with a Latin motto: T Glazebrook, A Summers, T Martineau, H Rodriguez, N Stoian, L Murton, N Jacobs and J Hughes.

Ma'am Naidoo presented prizes to L Tolgard, F Lovejoy and C Spencer to recognise their passion for reading.

Many boys have taken part in MTech this term but two boys, C Lyons Appiah and F Edstrom were awarded their Gold Disks for strong performances.

As always, the fantasy football was a tightly contested affair with Mr Lane narrowly pipping A Timms and A Bethell to the title of Manager of the Year.

The Little Bash is an elite cricket league that over half the boys in the 3rd Form took part in this term. After a gruelling group stage where Dropmore Catches and Farnham Pumpers had to drop out, the Slough Sloggers and Caldicott Canons met in last week's final with the Canons narrowly coming out on top. Mr Langley then awarded trophies to recognise outstanding batting and bowling performances before awarding cricketing colours to A Hampshire, J Marsh and H Ferneyhough.

Swimming is a major feature of the Summer Term and of the eight galas in which Caldicott participated, the boys were victorious in all but one. The Interhouse Gala saw Cooper secure both the main competition and the Wacky Races. Ma'am Rule presented swimming trophies to G Culley and D Stone in recognition of services to swimming at Caldicott.

Mr Williams, who runs the activity programme, read out the achievements of boys in this year's Challenge Cup which recognises boys who have taken part in sporting, non-sporting and life skills activities. Z Mohamed and D Nakhmanovich were the only boys to secure the Five Star Award.

The Rock award, that celebrates reliability, tenacity and all-round skills was awarded to O Alcock in the 4th Form and R Randev in the 6th Form.

Next year’s rugby captain will be A Dean, supported by M Ferreira as vice-captain.

Finally, the winning house announcement was made. After a superb year of academic and sporting prowess, Cooper came out on top, followed by Wood, Jenkins and McArthur.